Kansas City Workers Comp FAQ

Home » Kansas City Workers Comp FAQ

If you’ve been injured at the workplace in Kansas City, there’s a good chance that you’ll be entitled to certain benefits due to KC workers’ compensation. In short, workers’ compensation provides a safety net for employees if they become seriously ill or injured, and it also serves to protect employees against lawsuits. Generally, if you were injured in a work-related accident, your employer or the insurance company will seek reimbursement for damages incurred by reporting your injuries to the Missouri Department of Labor’s Division of Workers’ Compensation.

Kansas City Workers Comp FAQ | Popham Law Firm

If you weren’t compensated fairly and properly, or you feel that you’re not receiving appropriate workers’ compensation benefits, then call a Kansas City workers’ compensation attorney as soon as possible. At the Popham Law firm, our personal injury and employment attorneys have helped hundreds of individuals receive fair and reasonable compensation for their work-related injuries or illnesses. When workers’ comp problems arise, make sure to not hesitate and call our Kansas City law office for a free, confidential, and no-obligation consultation. Call today at (816) 221-2288 or (800) 578-2288 (toll free).

In the meantime, you can learn more about workers’ compensation below.

Overview of Workers’ Comp in Kansas City

There are certain benefits available to certain employees in case they are injured on the job. Most workers’ compensation cases, for example, involve similar benefits, such as:

  • Medical care, including the cost to travel for necessary medical care
  • Disability benefits for workers suffering temporary partial disability, temporary total disability, permanent partial disability and permanent total disability
  • Survivor benefits for dependents after the death of a worker
  • Payment for lost wages

In order for the injury to warrant some of the benefits listed above, the injury, medical condition, or disability must have been caused by a workplace accident. In some cases, the workplace accident just has to be the prevailing factor resulting in the condition or disability. In general, the types of injuries commonly covered by workers’ compensation include:

Lastly, it is important to note that most employers are obliged to provide workers’ comp benefits for their employees. Missouri law states that employers with five or more employees must provide workers’ comp. Furthermore, any employers in the construction industry are required to have workers’ comp coverage.

Workers’ comp coverage doesn’t apply to some of the following employers:

  • Farm labor
  • Domestic servants in a private home
  • Occasional labor performed for a private household
  • Qualified real estate agents and direct sellers

Kansas City Workers Comp FAQ

Below are some commonly asked questions regarding workers’ comp that we often hear at the Popham Law office:

1.) What do I do after an injury at work?

If you’ve been injured at work, always make sure that you’re okay before doing anything else. If you need emergency medical assistance, focus on getting yourself better first. If you can, notify your employer immediately. A worker’s compensation claim may be denied if you don’t notify your employer within 20 days after the accident, 20 days after seeking medical treatment, or 10 days after your last day of actual work (if you no longer work for the employer).

Refer to Workers Compensation Rights and Responsibilities (K-WC 40-A) for more information.

Kansas City Workers Comp FAQ | Popham Law Firm2.) Can my employer retaliate against me for making a worker’s compensation claim?

Absolutely not. Missouri has specific laws prohibiting discrimination or retaliation against a worker for filing a workers’ compensation claim. If discrimination or retaliation does occur, then your employer could potentially face a civil liability.

3.) How can I know if a settlement is the right legal amount?

Workers’ compensation benefits depend on a variety of factors, such as the extent of your injury and the circumstances surrounding the injury, for instance. Nonetheless, the Ombudsman Section of the Division of Workers Compensation can help with this concern, as well as an experienced workers’ compensation attorney.

4.) Can I still get benefits if the accident was my fault?

No matter if it was your fault or your employer’s fault, you are still eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. At the same time, however, there are certain circumstances where you might not be eligible for benefits, such as if you were on alcohol or drugs or you intentionally hurt yourself at work.

5.) What is an authorized treating doctor?

When receiving medical intervention (such as emergency assistance or a check up) through workers’ compensation, your employer retains the right to choose the doctor who will treat your injury. This professional is known as the authorized treating doctor. If you seek out a non-authorized (or not agreed upon) doctor or physician, workers’ comp may only be responsible for the first $500 in medical bills. If the authorized doctor, however, is not treating you well or properly, then you need to contact the workers’ comp attorneys at Popham Law as soon as possible.

Contact Popham Law Today for Your KC Workers’ Comp Attorneys

Workers’ compensation is one of the most important safeguards and benefits for Missouri workers. After an injury, workers should be able to seek the medical assistance they need without the stress and worry of substantial medical bills. If you’ve been injured in an accident at work and your workers’ comp isn’t compensating fairly, make sure to call the Kansas City workers’ comp attorneys at Popham Law immediately! For a free, no-obligation consultation, call us at (816) 221-2288 or (800) 578-2288 (toll free).