What To Do If You're In An Auto Accident With An Uninsured Driver In Kansas City?

You pay your premiums regularly and never miss one, driving around with the knowledge that you’re covered. And then the day comes that you’re in an auto accident by someone who doesn’t have car insurance. Now, what do you do?

What To Do If You're In An Auto Accident With An Uninsured Driver In Kansas City?

Unlike an accident where you exchange information with the other driver, this one requires additional patience and work. Having an attorney with experience handling uninsured claims with insurance companies will make the process just a little easier.

What Missouri Requires

Drivers in Missouri are required to carry minimum coverage of:

  • $25,000 bodily injury, per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury, per accident
  • $10,000 property damage per accident
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury for Uninsured Motorist
  • Uninsured motorist: $25,000 bodily injury, per person
  • Uninsured motorist: $50,000 bodily injury, per accident

Missouri drivers are also required to carry proof of insurance at all times to present to any law enforcement officer who asks for it. Failing to present insurance information when asked can lead to a ticket and four points on a driver’s record. The driver may also be monitored to ensure that they have or acquire insurance coverage. License suspension can follow if insurance isn’t acquired afterward.

When An Auto Accident Happens

An estimated 14% of drivers in Missouri are uninsured, so it’s possible that you could be hit by one at least once.You should always file a police report, and get medical attention if you are injured. Take pictures of the accident, the damage to your car, and if necessary, any injuries you’ve suffered. Make no admissions to the police or to the other driver, imply or admit fault, including anything that may sound like an apology.Should you discover that the other driver is uninsured, you’ll need the police report and evidence to file your claim. Most insurers have short deadlines for filing a claim, so you’ll need to contact them as soon as possible.You may be required to use your own health insurance to cover your injuries, and collision coverage for damage (if you have it.) If you’ve purchased rental car coverage for your own policy, you’ll be able to get one for the duration of your repair.Once you file your claim, be ready for your insurance company to closely examine every aspect of your accident claim. Like any other claim, they are likely seeking to deny it.

The Personal Injury Claim

You’ll be working to get your own insurance company (or companies) to cover your losses, and may need the help of an attorney if they engage in bad faith practices.Because the other driver failed to carry insurance, you may be able to file a personal injury claim against them. However, if the driver was not insured, you may have a difficult time collecting any damages.Your attorney may be able to get a judgment for a lien against any property the other driver has. Speak with an experienced Kansas City personal injury attorney to determine if this is your best course of action.

Get Help From KC’s Oldest Car Accident Firm

Even with Uninsured/Underinsured Auto accident coverage, you still may have trouble getting your car repaired, your medical bills paid, and other compensation you need. Our attorneys understand and are ready to help with any uninsured motorist claim you have.The Popham Law Firm has helped hundreds of people since 1918. We can meet with you to review your case, explain everything, and how you should proceed. Contact us at (844) 243-2288 or (use our online contact form) to schedule your appointment.

Get the settlement you need—and the recognition you deserve.